Online Services
.>> Certification service 1 MSN 3
.>> Technology Service 2 MSN 4
The structure of EMC standards

The structure of EMC standards

EMC requirements are specified in a vast number of standard documents issued by various committees and organizations.

The documents are organized as follows:

Basic standards:

Describe the phenomenon, characterize the test equipment and give guidance how tests shall be performed and documented. Basic standards like IEC 61000-4-x form the lowest level in standard’s hierarchy.

Generic standards:

Specify test levels for a certain range of application, referring to the Basic Standards for general information. Generic standards give minimum requirements, e.g. for CE Mark EN 61000-6-1. Generic Standards stand above the Basic standards.

Product Family standards:

Are used where exist for a certain category of products. They specify test levels and performance criteria. EN 61326, for instance, forms such a Product Family standard dealing with the EMC requirements of equipment for measurement, control laboratory use.

Product standards:

Are the most preferred standards as they give strict requirements for a certain product. EN 61800-3 for instance is a Product Standard for adjustable speed electrical power drive systems. Apart from the requirements for EMC this standard also defines special test procedures.
Product Standards form the highest level in standard’s hierarchy.

Relevant Information
Information Search
Search in GPTEK ..... Fuzzy search:
Google Search

Copyright ©  2006-2014 GPTEK Testing Laboratories All rights reserved.

Tel.: 020-8148 6695, 8165 9395 Fax.: 020-8165 9395; Skype: liyun_01 E-mail:

Online services互动服务: Sales1, 互动服务: Sales2, ICP No. 14072239